Annual PCORI Fee Deadline Coming July 31st

PCORI – An ACA Fee That is Nearing the End If you have a calendar year self-insured medical plan, 2019 will be the last year that you will need to pay PCORI fees.  Non-calendar year plans with plan years ending between January and September 2019 will have one more payment due in 2020. The fee […]

Massachusetts Delays Payroll Tax and Notification Requirement

Massachusetts has announced a three-month delay to the new Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) law tax.  Payroll contributions are now scheduled to begin October 1, 2019. What is Staying the Same Beginning January 1, 2021, employees who meet certain financial requirements (have earned at least $4,700 during the last four completed calendar quarters, […]

Current New Jersey Leave Laws

Current New Jersey Family Leave Act Employers with 50 or more employees anywhere worldwide must provide unpaid family and medical leave to employees who have been employed for 12 months and have worked at least 1,000 hours for the covered employer during the previous 12 months.  This is a job protected and benefits protected leave […]

New Jersey Adopts Individual Health Insurance Mandate

New Jersey Adopts Individual Health Insurance Mandate New Jersey is following in the footsteps of Massachusetts and is requiring all residents to maintain minimal essential health insurance beginning January 1, 2019, unless the individual qualifies for an exemption.  Failure to have health coverage or qualify for an exemption may result in the assessment of a […]

FAST Blog List by Category – Q1 2019

Welcome to Compliance Friday Answers to the Service Team (FAST)!  Each Friday we publish our response to a question that the ABD Compliance Team received from a client or member of the EB Service Team.  These represent the most frequently asked (or interesting) questions we see. We post all of our FAST responses on the […]

Washington State Paid Family and Medical Leave

Beginning January 1, 2020, employees who have worked at least 820 hours in employment in the last four completed calendar quarters will be eligible for between 12 to 18 weeks of leave annually to: Care and bond after a baby’s birth or placement of a child younger than 18 Care for a family member experiencing […]

New Massachusetts Health Insurance Disclosure Form

What is the New Reporting Requirement? Massachusetts has resurrected a version of the Health Insurance Disclosure form (HIRD).  State law requires every employer in Massachusetts who had six or more employees in any month during the past 12 months preceding the November 30 due date of this form (December 1, 2017 – November 30, 2018) […]